A-List

I’m sometimes asked about my willingness to put my name and projects in front of mega-celebrities by way of their official websites’ contact forms, Facebook, Twitter, MySpace, etc. A lot of people seem to think this is a foolish thing for me to do and appear to take great pleasure in letting me know that.

Do I REALLY expect a reply from these A-list celebrities?

Not so much, no.

So why do I do it so often?

The answer is simple. Even if nothing at all comes from my having put my name and a project in front of a huge celebrity director, producer, actor, actress, etc., that individual has still – assuming they saw my message or social networking post – been made aware of my name. They’ve heard of me. And, on the off chance that one of them does reply – and it has happened – I’m given the chance to get to know them a bit better and let them get to know me and my work a bit better.

This business is, in large part, all about networking. It’s who you know and what contacts in the industry you and they have. A casual meeting or a couple of exchanged social networking messages today could open the door for something profitable down the road. People remember. There’s no telling when someone with major contacts and/or money to fund a project, and who has heard of me, might run across my name or work in the future and truly take note.

So, for those of you who want to laugh and snigger because of my willingness to put my work and name in front of A-list celebrities, continue doing so if you like. For my part, I will continue trying to open those doors and see where it gets me. All it takes is making a professional connection with the right person just one time to escalate a career to a whole new level.

http://www.wix.com/scott_harper/scott-harper

 

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

