Fan Fiction?

A while back, when Amazon started up Kindle Worlds, I was thrilled. There are a couple of comic book properties I’ve been watching Kindle Worlds for, hoping to see them there. For those who have been following my career over the long-term, you probably know just which ones I’m talking about, and why. For those of you who don’t…

Several years ago, I was in talks with Mirage Studios – back before Peter Laird sold off the franchise – about doing some writing for the main “Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles” comic book. I had four single-issue story ideas that Mirage was considering. I was also in touch with them about a full-length novel I wanted to write, that would take the TMNT back to their darker, grittier roots – the way I prefer them to be. I actually ended up being put in touch with Mirage Studios’s agent regarding that project. All of those fell through when the franchise sold, and Mirage Studios shut down.

Also, I am a huge Batman fan. I have several Batman stories that I would love to write. Someone associated with DC Comics reviewed them several years ago. I was basically told “Not at this time”, and that was that.

Since Amazon launched Kindle Worlds, I’ve been hoping for the TMNT and Batman to become part of that. If that were to happen, I might finally be able to write these stories, do so legitimately, rather than them being unlicensed fan fiction, and get paid for my time, efforts, and talent, too. Much as I love writing, it’s what I do. I need to be paid. I can’t just write these stories because I want to, and not see a return on them.

Now, I’m reading articles on-line talking about how Kindle Worlds isn’t performing to expectations. I haven’t yet heard anything about Amazon shutting down Kindle Worlds, luckily, so there’s still hope. But, I’ve been wondering if there are other licensed fan fiction sites out there that are paying markets. Are there? I’ve yet to find any. If you know of one – or more! – please let me know via the “Contact” form on my website.

Scott Harper

www.scottharper.net

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

