Tom Smith

Recently, my wonderful wife Desiree Lee introduced me to the musical work of Mr. Tom Smith. The man is a genius – both at music, and comedy. As the tagline on Mr. Smith’s website says, “Music in every style…except dull”. He works in an array of musical styles. His songs run the spectrum from dark drama to comedy. One song of Mr. Smith’s that’s a particular earworm for me is called “The Ballad of Rupert“. I’ve told my wife a few times – and she agrees – that the song would make the basis of a great movie. I would love to write the project!

I’ve messaged Mr. Smith regarding this, but have yet to receive a reply. Thus this blog post. It’s my hope that this post will catch Mr. Smith’s attention if my message to him ended up being overlooked. I know he’s been busy touring. I can’t even imagine how hectic it is to be on the road, zipping from one city, and one performance, to another, to the next, and so on. So, if in the rush and hubbub my message was overlooked, hopefully Mr. Smith will somehow, someday, be made away of this post.

Mr. Smith – if that happens, and if you’re at all interested in the idea of my writing a screenplay based on your song “The Ballad of Rupert”, please get in touch with me via the contact form on my website.

For everyone else out there, especially those of you who haven’t discovered Mr. Smith’s music, I hope this post has made you more aware of his work. Check it out. You won’t be sorry. Mr. Smith is an amazing talent. Enjoy!

Scott Harper

www.scottharper.net

  1. September 9th, 2014
  2. August 27th, 2015

Leave a Reply

