Adaptations

Every since my fourth book, “Predators or Prey?” – which was the first book in my Wendy Markland series of novels – came out there has been interest in adapting it. Various parties have wanted to turn the book into a live-action film, a live-action web-series, a part live-action/part animated webseries, or a television series.

Soon after the release of my eighth novel, bestselling, award-winning “Quintana Roo, Yucatan”, a film producer expressed interest in adapting that book as a movie.

Unfortunately, none of that has ever happened.

Still, Desiree Lee and I recently attended a film festival. It made me start thinking. If anyone out there would care to adapt one of my books, or short stories, for an entry into a film festival, let’s talk. I seriously doubt that “Quintana Roo, Yucatan”, or “Quagmire Fen” would be within the scope and reach of a film festival budget to pull off properly. If so, great. But I doubt that would happen. Attempting live-action versions of “Winter’s Rite” or “Well Wishes” on such a scaled-back budget probably wouldn’t work, either. However, I’ve been told by a number of fans over the years that those books would make excellent animated projects – traditional hand-drawn, or CGI. Most of my short stories would make for low budget films. I keep giving thought to trying my hand with one of those, anyway.

Again, if you’re looking for material to adapt for a film festival project, please get in touch. I’ve written a wealth of material for you to choose from. Pick a title, and let’s discuss it.

Scott Harper

www.scottharper.net

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

