“The Flash”

The_Flash_Wallpaper

One my proudest moments as both a father, and as a comic book fan happened recently. Anyone who knows me at all knows that I love my comic books. I’m a huge DC Comics fan. Batman is my primary character, but by no means my only interest in the DCU as a whole.

Desirée Lee and I have been happily watching the CW network’s smash hit series “Arrow” since the pilot episode aired. While I’ve never avidly followed Oliver Queen in the comics, I thoroughly enjoy “Arrow”. In Season 2 of the show, we met the CW’s version of the DCU character Barry Allen. News hit the wires about that time, too, that the CW planned to spin Barry Allen out into his own series—”The Flash“. Two iconic DC characters with their own TV shows, on the air, on the same network, in production at the same time? I had what Desirée calls one of my “nerdgasms”.

As the months passed, excitement built toward the premier of “The Flash”. Remember, as I’ve mentioned in past posts on this blog/site dealing with the topics of TV shows, Desirée and I have Netflix, but not cable or any sort of satellite dish service. The evening “The Flash” pilot aired, we weren’t able to watch it. But, we watched it the following evening on the CW network’s website. In preparation for the event, we had bought a Flash onesie for our 15-month-old daughter. We let her stay up past her bedtime to watch “The Flash” with us as a special treat. She’s too young to understand what she’s seeing on the screen, but still captivated by anything happening on a TV screen or computer monitor.

So, there we were, settled on the sofa as a happy, loving family, watching “The Flash”. Of course, our daughter decided partway through the episode that she wanted down. She wanted to roam, and wander. We let her. And then the proud moment mentioned at the start of this post occurred…

We were, maybe, halfway through the pilot of “The Flash” when our daughter—happily sporting her Flash onesie, and watching “The Flash” on TV, mind you—stood up on her own, completely unsupported, and took four or five consecutive steps. It’s the first time she’s walked so many steps, unsupported, at a time. Desirée and I were thrilled beyond words, and Desirée teased me several times later about the timing, and our daughter’s apparel at the moment. She told our daughter, “You made Daddy very proud by walking like that during “The Flash”, with your Flash onesie on.”

She did, yes. As a father, and as a comic book fan, I couldn’t have been happier.

Why am I devoting a post on my blog to talking about this? Simple—I hope that someday, in some way, my own writing work can be involved in something even half as meaningful to someone. I’m a geek. I know that. Hardly a day goes by that Desirée doesn’t remind me of that at least once. I love comic books. I get very excited about them. If, someday, something I’ve written, comic book or otherwise, happened to be part of something as touching and meaningful and memorable in someone else’s life as the DC comics character the Flash, and the CW network’s new series “The Flash” now is in ours, I would be thrilled beyond words. I’m a bestselling, award-winning novelist, who has branched out into comic books, and film. What’s the point of the writing if it doesn’t touch someone? Again, I truly hope that one of my projects can have the same touching impact that all thing Flash will now have on our family.

Thank you, everyone involved in the comics, and new TV series, “The Flash” for giving my family that special moment!

Scott Harper
www.scottharper.net

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

