Still Not Producing

Film_Production

This is a topic I’ve covered here before, but it’s been a while. It’s been a few months, at least, I think. Despite my being involved in screenwriting, I’m not a film producer. It’s flattering when someone asks, but I’m not a producer. I’m a writer. I have the same difficulties with finding a home for screenplays as most other writers of films.

At one time I was going to co-produce a film, and was pretty vocal about that. Sadly, that entire project has fallen apart. Long story short, the person I was working with went behind my back,brought in someone else, and effectively tried to cut me out of that project entirely. I dropped him, along with several other projects he and I were working on together. So, I was going to take on a production role with that project, but it didn’t happen. I’d still like to have the experience of working as a film producer, but simply don’t have the resources at hand to take on more than a no-budget short film project at the moment. Maybe someday…

But, for now, I’m not a film producer. So, flattered as I am when people send me their scripts, asking me to produce them, I’m not in a position to do so. Yet.

Scott Harper

www.scottharper.net

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

