Wonder Woman

Wonder_Woman

I know, I know. Yes, here I go with yet another DC comic book-related post. Want to know just how much of a DC fanboy I really am? I’m wearing one (yes, I have more than one!) of my Batman T-shirts as I write this post.

About three years ago DC Comics pretty much ended their previous timeline. Anyone familiar with DC Comics at all will know about the “Crisis” stories that have run from time to time. “Flashpoint” ought to have been titled “Ultimate Crisis”. It basically mashed several DC Comics timelines into one. That one being DC’s New 52.

In the previous timeline, which I still refer to as the “real timeline”, I simply adored Diana/Wonder Woman. Despite her Amazon warrior heritage and upbringing, and her love of the physicality of combat, Diana was a very peaceful, serene, spiritual person. Her message and philosophy of peace were almost Wiccan at times. For those of you who don’t know, I’m Wiccan, and have been for years. “Wonder Woman” was a very unique title. It blended action and adventure, with general themes of peaceful, harmonious co-existence, tolerance, and people helping people to make everyone’s lives better.

Not so in the New 52. Now, all of the spirituality that made Diana such a lovely and captivating character for me is gone. Now about all Diana does is run around with a sword, and kill monsters. She glories in combat and bloodshed. I read the first few issues of “Wonder Woman” in the New 52, and dropped the title, sickened by it. And by what DC had done with the character.

My guess is that the movie version of Diana that we’ll be seeing on the upcoming films “Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice”, and “Justice League” will be based on the New 52 Diana. If so, I’ll be greatly saddened.

However, there is a glimmer of hope. The real timeline is creeping back! My hope is that DC has seen the error of their way – a.k.a. the New 52 – and is about to correct that, returning us to the real timeline. Sorry for the spoilers, for anyone not up to speed on their DC titles. If and when we return to the real timeline, I would love to work on a project revolving around Diana. Not now; now with the mess DC has made of the character. But if we ever do return to the real timeline.

So, DC Comics and Warner Bros. – As I’ve done in a couple of prior posts on this blog (see here and here) I’m putting out a call to you. Please return us to the real timeline. And then please let me work on a project involving Wonder Woman. Be it a short story, novel, comic book project, or film; I have experience in them all. Working on a “Wonder Woman” project would be a dream come true – if it’s set in the real timeline.

Scott Harper

www.scottharper.net

  1. October 28th, 2015

Leave a Reply

