#‎SaveConstantine‬

You all know I’m a huge comic book fan. I love the DC Comics Universe (DCU). That addiction has rubbed off onto my wonderful wife, Desirée Lee, as well. Both of us are currently thrilled by the DCU-based television shows that are currently on the air. One of our favorites is “Constantine“, which is based on the DCU comic series “Hellblazer”, and focuses on the character John Constantine. Matt Ryan is playing the lead character in the show, and John Constantine could not have been better cast! Mr. Ryan is doing an absolutely superb job with this role!

While the show is a hit with fans, and a lot of those fans are very rabid about it, the network is doing what do many networks do. The series hasn’t become an instant ratings bonanza for them. So, they don’t seem willing to renew it. In fact, they didn’t even order a second half to the first season. Now, I’m hearing that, rather than outright cancel “Constantine”, NBC is giving serious thought to turning the series over to SyFy. It seems that a marathon of “Constantine” episodes ran on that network, and received good ratings. So, there’s a chance that we’ll see “Constantine” dropped by NBC, but picked up by SyFy under the same name as the comic book – “Hellblazer”. I’m 100% fine with that, as long as SyFy continues the show, and keeps the same case. Mr. Matt Ryan is John Constantine! I never want to see anyone else in the role after seeing his portrayal of this extremely complex character.

Being a fan, and looking down the proverbial barrel of a network change, I have to put this out there: I would love to work on an episode (or more!) of “Constantine”/”Hellblazer” as a writer! Can anyone reading this make that happen? If so, please get in touch with me via the “Contact” page of my website. I’d love to be part of the show’s next incarnation!

For those reading this who don’t know me, I’m a bestselling, award-winning writer with over 30 short stories, and nine books to my name. I’ve also branched out into comic book projects with my wife – “Confluence” and “MoonWraith” – as well as film work.

Scott Harper

www.scottharper.net

Leave a Reply

