Depression…Probably

Depression_01

Depression seems to be something that a lot of writers suffer from. I’m almost 100% certain that I’m among those ranks. For years, I’ve been coping with it on my own. Recently, however, it’s gotten worse. Looking over lists of symptoms of depression – both physical, and psychological – I can check off a large number as problems that I have. I have a doctor’s appointment coming up soon to speak with the doctor about this. I fully expect to leave his office with a diagnoses of depression.

Why is it that so many writers suffer from depression? Do we gravitate toward our chosen field because of our depression? Or do we wind up depressed because of the hardships, and struggles inherent to what we do? Depression is a chemical problem in the brain. What’s the link between it, and authors?

Scott Harper

www.scottharper.net

Leave a Reply

