More Aquaman

Aquaman_Ross_02

As you all well know by now, I’m a big fan of DC Comics. Batman is my main character, but, over the past few years, I’ve become a big Aquaman fan, too. I talked about that in this post a while back.

Several years ago an “Aquaman” television series had been in development. That project didn’t make it. If I remember right, a pilot for that project was filmed, but never aired. From what I’ve seen, it didn’t look as if that show would truly do justice to the character. Aquaman is an amazing character. After watching “Arrow”, “The Flash”, the pilot for “Supergirl”, and seeing previews for the upcoming show “DC’s Legends of Tomorrow”, I know it’s possible for television to handle complex and difficult characters on an episodic basis. Yes, a TV series featuring Aquaman would be visually complex. But looks at “The Flash”! They’ve used Gorilla Grodd (and won an award for those CGI effects!) and routinely continue to show us Firestorm. I’ve read that the “Supergirl” pilot had a budget of $14 million. My jaw dropped when I saw that!

I really want a network to throw resources like that at an “Aquaman” series. The call I put out to DC Comics and Warner Bros. in the post I linked to above still stands. How about it, guys?

Scott Harper

www.scottharper.net

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

