Internet Pirates

Not long ago several of my novels were discovered on a pirate site. Among those titles was my bestselling, award-winning book “Quintana Roo, Yucatan“. I was very displeased, and distressed upon hearing this. Why? Because those books are being stolen. Each e-book download of a title means money lost to me. It’s royalties that I would have earned by was of legitimate sales, gone. Poof! Authors don’t make a lot per sale to begin with. Our income is generated by way of lots of sales. Each pirated copy, each theft, steals one of those sales from us.

Not only am I an author, but I’m also a husband and father. I have a wife and child to support. Each theft that keeps royalties from me, keeps that money from my family, too. Pirates don’t just steal from the author, they steal from the authors’ spouses, and children. It’s deplorable.

As an author, and as a husband, and as a father, I’m asking you not to download pirated works. Pay the money. Buy the work. Pay the author for all of the time they’ve put into creating that work. Allow the author that income for support of themselves, and their families. Please.

If you discover any of my work, or work by my very talented wife Desirée Lee, on a pirate site anywhere, please let us know. Simply send me a message via the “Contact” page of my website. We thank you for your help in this fight against piracy.

Scott Harper

www.scottharper.net

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

