Book Cover Designs

More and more I keep seeing lesser-known authors modeling their books’ covers after cover designs of major bestsellers. Personally, I don’t like this trend. It’s something that I sincerely hope you’ll never see me do. If you ever do see that on any of my books, it’ll only be because a publisher has completely overruled me on the point, and forced the cover through against my wishes and arguments. And, I ask that if such a thing ever does happen, that all of you contact said publisher, and complain and protest the cover, please.

Why do people copy such well-known covers? Do they think that people will think they’re buying a huge bestselling title, and buy their book by accident? Or are they just trying to link their release to something that’s far better known to the general public? I truly don’t know. But, again, I don’t like seeing it. It strikes me as a cheap trick to try and con readers into buying their book.

What do all of you think about this tend in book cover designs?

Scott Harper

www.scottharper.net

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

