“Ghostbusters” (2016)

Ghostbusters

Not having anything in particular to post about today writing-wise, I’ll toss this post up. Consider this one of the “About Me” posts that fans request.

The official trailer for the 2016 reboot/remake of “Ghostbusters” was released by Sony Pictures Entertainment this morning. If you haven’t seen it, here it is:

After watching it myself – twice, in fact – I’m still not sure about the remake. “Ghostbusters” (1984) is my all-time favorite movie. As I’ve said before, I’m not happy with the idea of a reboot. Yet, since this is “Ghostbusters”, I’ll have to watch it at some point. I’m still on the proverbial fence in regards to seeing this in the theater, though. This remake is, from what I’ve read, meant to be the launchpad for a whole expanded “Ghostbusters” universe. Had the 2016 film been a passing-of-the-torch story, taking us from the original team to a new team, I probably could have accepted it. But to just pretend that “Ghostbusters” and “Ghostbusters II” never happened, ignore those characters, and start fresh? That bothers me. A lot.

Harold Ramis’s character of Dr. Egon Spengler always has been, and always will be, my favorite Ghostbuster. “Ghostbusters” (1984) was actually my introduction to the paranormal. Though the film is a comedy, it changed me, and my life. In a lot of ways, I am the person I am today because of “Ghostbusters”. Dr. Spengler, although he is a fictional character, was a large driving force behind my obsession with science while growing up, too.

So, maybe that’s why I’m so touchy about the idea of a remake/reboot. “Ghostbusters” (1984) has meant so much to me for so long – the film was released when I was 9-years-old. I’m 40-years-old-now; I turn 41 in three months – that the thought of the production company simply tossing it aside is impossible for me to fathom.

Scott Harper

www.scottharper.net

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

