Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles

TMNT_Wallpaper

If I’ve covered this topic/update here before, I apologize for the repeat. I truly can’t remember if I’ve given you all this update before, or not. I do know that it’s been a long time since I mentioned the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles on this blog/website. So, it’s entirely possible that I have covered this before. It’s just as possible that I haven’t.

As you all know, I’m an avid comic book fan/reader. I have been for years. I’ve been a fan of the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles since the 1980s. They debuted in 1984. I discovered them not too long after by way of a classmate in school. Being a writer, and a comic book fan, it’s only natural that I would love to write the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles. So, a number of years ago, I got in touch with Mirage Studios – the publishing company that used to own/publish the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles (TMNT). I pitched four stand-alone comic book stories to them. I was told, in so many words, “We like the ideas, but can’t work them in right now. We’ll keep them on file for possible later use, and be in touch in the future if we decide to have you write any of these stories.”

I also had an idea for a full-length Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles novel. My idea for that would’ve taken the TMNT back to their darker, grittier roots, and been a more adult TMNT story than anything we’ve seen since the early 1990s. Mirage liked my idea enough to put me in touch with their agent about the project. Not long after, Mirage went the way of the dodo when the TMNT franchise was sold off. So, that, as they say, was that.

Now, IDW Publishing is running a reboot TMNT comic book series. They’ve tossed all the past of the proverbial window, and started fresh. It’s as if the TMNT just popped into being a few years ago, rather than having been around for 30+ years. I started reading the IDW series when it began. I dropped it only a half a dozen or so issues in. I just couldn’t bring myself to keep reading it. It literary pained me to say good-bye to my beloved Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles. But each issue of the IDW series only upset me more than the previous one.

I got in touch with IDW Publishing about the stand-alone TMNT ideas I had. They refused to even consider them, since they’d thrown out all the previous years’ continuity.

Nickelodeon is running a CGI TMNT series. I tried watching it, but couldn’t even sit through the entire pilot. And Michael Bay has released one TMNT film, and is preparing to release a second. The first wasn’t nearly as bad as I expected. I’m actually looking forward to watching the new one when it comes out.

Anyway, I still have my five TMNT ideas on file – the four stand-alone comic book stories, and the full-length novel. My hope is that, someday, Amazon’s Kindle Worlds will pick up the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles. If they do, I fully plan to write all five of my ideas for publication there. Until then, I’ll just sit on these ideas, wait, and lament the tragic passing of the bygone days when the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles franchise was meant for more mature readers, with more discerning tastes. Hopefully someday I’ll be able to pen my TMNT story ideas for my fans. Many of you have asked me about them in the past, and look forward to reading them should I ever have the opportunity to write them.

And, yes, for those of you who are wondering, Leonardo still is, and always will be, my favorite Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle.

Scott Harper

www.scottharper.net

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

