Book Chapters

Book

As a professional author myself, when I’m reading the work of other writers, I’m not just reading – I’m studying. Reading for pleasure has become a form of work for me. One thing I notice – and want to ask you all about – is a lot of authors varying the lengths of their chapters wildly from one to the next. One chapter my only be three or four pages long. The next night be fifty pages or so.

When writing, I try hard to keep all of the chapters within a given project around the same length. As a reader, I prefer that, too.

What about all of you? Do you like books in which all of the chapters are about the same length? Or do you like the extreme variance in length from one to the next? Or does it matter to you?

Scott Harper

www.scottharper.net

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

